January 5, 2014

 

Congratulations! We did it!  We collectively were able to move on to 2014!  2013 is over… done… FINISHED, which is my terribly clever way of saying this week’s word is FINISH. Brilliant!

Last week I committed myself (not literally…although…) to journaling 1000 gifts.  I gave myself no time limits, no borders or boundaries on how I could accomplish this challenge. I don’t HAVE to do it daily, but doing it daily helps me get into the rhythm of setting time aside, of being aware and of truly being in the moment.  I can clearly see that the goal is not the Finish line, but the process, the discipline, the savoring of each gift given.  It’s not the joy of saying “I did it!” but rather the strengthening process of overcoming obstacles and renewing the desire to keep going.  Sometimes we never Finish, but oh the lessons we learn along the way; of stumbling and getting up, of standing solid and steeling ourselves in adversity. We learn determination and resolve; and patience… so much patience.

Now here’s the deal about Finishing… first we have to begin. Very clever, right?  But it is so true.  You know the “taking the first step” advice we have heard all of our lives?  It works.  Every Sunday morning when I sit down to write my thoughts I run head-on to that obstinate hag, Ms. Resistance.  She’s a tough one alright, always coming up with suggestions of other things I need to do immediately…”You really should check all of your e mail first, there might be something important waiting… and Face Book… don’t forget Face Book… and is your coffee as hot as you like it, you should nuke it” .. “You really need to check the weather and figure out what you are going to wear to church!”   Oh yeah, Ms. Sassy Pants Resistance is unrelenting… there’s always something. So mentally I have to smack her around a bit, put on the brakes and take that first step, type that first word… and off slinks Ms. Resistance without another word. Oh, sometimes she’ll tap me on the shoulder and whisper tempting things in my ear, but by that time I’ve got her number and just give her the cold shoulder.  Move along Hag.

“Action generates motivation; not the other way around.”  Mark Amend

I am up to #48 on my list of gifts:

8) Resting my gaze upon a pillow my dear friend Temie needlepointed for me… it says  “May All  Your Dreams Come True”

14) Seeing a bumper sticker:   “Old is the New Young!” Love it!

21) Stillness…Shhhhhhh

With love,may all your dreams come true